Commercial Production

With a bigger land area, I can go into commercial production! I have offers from two friends who are into the distribution business. One wants me to be a contract grower for Japanese Cucumbers. The other is contemplating on partnering with me to be a Calamansi grower.

For Japanese Cucumbers, the demand projection is 40kg per day at P50/kg or around 1,200kg per month at P60,000 per month potential revenue.

For Calamansi, the demand projection is 3,000kg per month at around P50-60 per kg or around P150,000 per month. A one-hectare land will produce only half of this though, so P75,000 per month potential revenue.

What’s good about Calamansi though is that, while the tree bears fruit after 2-3 years, it will produce fruit for 9-10 years straight, with no seasons. Hence, it might be the better option especially for someone like me, a weekend farmer.

Leave a comment